You are $150.00 away from Free Shipping!
Everything about gluten-free nuts

Everything about gluten-free nuts

Published on May 31, 2020

You might have heard about the word “gluten-free” or even noticed this label on the packing of some nuts and wondered what exactly gluten-free nuts mean? Or why do we need to follow a gluten-free diet? Or are all nuts gluten-free?

Answering these questions can help you find the best products to buy. You also need to know, even if being “gluten-free” is a good point for some foods, it doesn’t mean you necessarily need to buy gluten-free products.

In this post, we are going to explain to you all about gluten-free nuts and also let you know if you need to follow a gluten-free diet or not.

What does gluten-free mean?

First, we need to know what gluten-free means. Gluten is a protein found in most grains, such as wheat, barley, or rye. This type of protein sometimes causes health problems, such as celiac disease, which is an autoimmune disorder.

As a result, people with gluten-related medical conditions should avoid eating foods that contain gluten and should follow a gluten-free diet.  Moreover, a gluten-free diet is also suitable for people who want to lose weight.

Almost 1% of people in the world have gluten sensitivity, but today, most people follow a gluten-free diet. Since gluten provides no essential nutrients, it won’t harm to avoid them. It is believed that gluten-free foods are healthier and can increase energy.

Which nuts are gluten-free?

Nuts in all types of tree nuts, seeds, or legumes, are naturally gluten-free. Therefore, if you buy raw nuts such as almonds, pecans, walnuts, pine nuts, pistachios, cashews, sunflower seeds, sesame, or pumpkin seeds, you can be sure that there is no gluten in them.

But it’s better to be careful about the roasted and flavoured nuts because they might have some additives to make them tastier.

To reach this goal, sometimes wheat is added to them; thus, they might have gluten. However, if you are not allergic to this protein, you won’t need to be concerned since the low amount of gluten won’t affect your health.

Generally, raw nuts are gluten-free.

What are the benefits of a gluten-free diet?

A gluten-free diet is not just for people who are diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. It has benefits for other people too. Some of the benefits of having a gluten-free diet are as follow:

  • Gluten-free foods are natural and organic. Therefore, they are great for your health.
  • This diet can improve cholesterol levels.
  • Consuming gluten-free foods, such as raw nuts, can increase energy levels.
  • Over time, it can reduce the risks of heart diseases.
  • Gluten-free foods usually contain more antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals.
  • Going gluten-free can help you promote healthy weight-loss. You can add gluten-free nuts to your diet programs such as Keto diet.
  • This diet helps you take care of what you eat.

How to find out if a nut is gluten-free?

As mentioned earlier, natural foods such as raw nuts don’t have any gluten. Therefore, people with celiac disease can eat nuts without any concern.  But to make sure that the nuts you’re buying don’t have any additives or gluten, check the packing. Look for the words gluten-free, no gluten, or without gluten on a product’s label.

It is the easiest and fastest way to find out if a product or nut has gluten or not. But even if you didn’t see these words on the label, check the ingredients, or read the allergen statement on packaged foods.

Bottom Line

If you are following a gluten-free diet for weight loss or if you do have a gluten-related medical condition, it’s better to be aware of the products and foods you consume.

Since these days, many people are looking for gluten-free products; you can easily find food with a “no gluten” label. 

Moreover, if you are wondering if nuts such as pistachios, walnuts, or any other types of nuts are gluten-free or not, you should be sure that the raw and the ones that don’t have any additives or aren’t roasted with anything to change its taste are generally gluten-free.

However, if you are looking for roasted and tastier nuts, make sure to check the gluten-free label on them.

PS. This article is written based on the research that Natural Moreish content team has done on different blogs, websites and articles. Natural Moreish doesn’t suggest acknowledge or claim the information on this post.


Leave A Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you often make purchases that cost more than $300? If so, consider creating a wholesale account to unlock exclusive discounts.


Personal Cart

No products in the cart.